I hope this helps in making use of this Archive a little easier! If you have any questions, you are than welcome to email me –anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in
M Madhan
- Library Director
- madhan@jgu.edu.in
- 130 1845
Anupama Verma
- Assistant Manager
- anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in
- 130
Are you interested to know about the history of the personal stories of Indian citizens who have witnessed India develop into the nation we see today? We will suggest you go through this Citizens’ Archive of India. You may find it more interesting.
The Citizens’ Archive of India aims to record and archive the personal stories of Indian citizens who have witnessed India develop into the nation we see today. CAI interviews people about significant events in their lives from the pre-1947 era until the present day, to preserve a link for future generations. This project goes well beyond the political - citizens tell us about their personal lives, their social lives, about the culture and community they grew up in, and how times have changed.
Dilli Ki Khirki
This project, the brainchild of oral historian Ekta Chauhan, aims to archive the personal histories of residents of Khirki Village in New Delhi. The project is conducted in partnership with The Citizens' Archive of India. Khirki is an urban village, located in a posh South Delhi area. An urban village is a rural settlement caught in the process of rapid urbanization. While the village geographically lies within the city's boundaries, it is excluded from a number of planning and administrative processes and continues to follow traditional social practices. The residents of Khirki trace their origins back to the 13th Century, when the founder of the village, Khoobi, moved to Delhi from Indore and established it.
The Generation 1947 Project
The Generation 1947 Project, aims to record and archive the personal stories of Indian citizens who have witnessed life in pre-independent India, as well as the subsequent formative nation-building years. The focus of the project goes well beyond the political climate of the time. Citizens tell us about their personal lives, their social lives, about the culture and community they grew up in, and how times have changed. The project also digitally preserves various records such as letters, newspapers, documents, personal pictures, historical pictures, and other memorabilia from this period.
This project, the brainchild of oral historian Ekta Chauhan, aims to archive the personal histories of residents of Khirki Village in New Delhi. The project is conducted in partnership with The Citizens' Archive of India. Khirki is an urban village, located in a posh South Delhi area. An urban village is a rural settlement caught in the process of rapid urbanization. While the village geographically lies within the city's boundaries, it is excluded from a number of planning and administrative processes and continues to follow traditional social practices. The residents of Khirki trace their origins back to the 13th Century, when the founder of the village, Khoobi, moved to Delhi from Indore and established it.
The Generation 1947 Project
The Generation 1947 Project, aims to record and archive the personal stories of Indian citizens who have witnessed life in pre-independent India, as well as the subsequent formative nation-building years. The focus of the project goes well beyond the political climate of the time. Citizens tell us about their personal lives, their social lives, about the culture and community they grew up in, and how times have changed. The project also digitally preserves various records such as letters, newspapers, documents, personal pictures, historical pictures, and other memorabilia from this period.
Researchers and academics who wish to consult our records can contact us vai email, info@citizensarchiveofindia.org with your request, and someone from our team will assist you.